Pokinometry (and a welcome back :P)

Hey guys, sorry for the lack of activity on the site recently. I just got through exam week, so the two weeks prior were a bit jam-packed with academic excitement and probably some sort of sorrow. Anyways, I’m back for now, until another round of exams kicks me in the behind. Enjoy!

Okay, to bring it back to a new start, we hittin’ it up with that Poke again! This time, I think it’s my favorite poke place to date, right in front of The Low-Key Poke Joint! I’ll be taking you to Pokinometry in Anaheim, a beautifully presented and cleverly named spot right next to the skating rink. Walking in, immediately you’re probably going to be greeted by quite the line, considering how this place is popular af. It’s got seating available for probably 40-50 people, but half the place is the ordering counter, which is of standard design.

I was feeling particularly hungry this day, so I thought I’d go for a large bowl, which comes with 5 choices of fish instead of 3. So here goes the list. You got your Ahi, Salmon, Yellowtail, Albacore, and Scallop. That was all loaded on top of half rice and half salad. Of course it was layered with your standard poke fixin’s like masago, sesame seeds, ginger, wasabi, etc. I don’t know what it is about Pokinometry, but the combination of flavors and freshness really seal the deal for me. Here’s also the only spot to get the sushi rice right besides actual sushi restaurants. I think they win in that category for sure. On top of that, this time I got the salad, which came with a sort of ginger garlic dressing. I absolutely loved it. It wasn’t overpowering at all, and I thought it complemented the fish excellently. It was like a marriage of greens and fish. You could almost liken it to a Hawaiian style ceviche. It just gave me the fresh kick that I needed to be very happy 🙂 Onto the sauce. It was not complicated at all. In fact, it really is only soy sauce and sesame oil with some sort of spicy 3rd ingredient they add depending on how spicy you want your food. Imagine a yin-yang circle, but with 3 segments instead of two…a Yin-Yang-Yum if you will (oh my god, kill me for that pun). They’ve got their wonderfully delicious raw fish, the correct consistency sushi rice, and a basic-yet-effective sesame-shoyu based sauce. It’s all the things you look for in a poke bowl, and I couldn’t ask for more. Nothing disappointed me here. I could go on for ages, but I really don’t do it justice. Just take a look at the pictures and have a go.

If you’re looking for an honest, unassuming great basic (in the “stuck to its roots” kind of sense) poke place, this one is it. It doesn’t try to pull you in with some sort of fancy innovation. It’s just honest to itself. The food doesn’t need any more than it already has. No razzle dazzle. Just poke. And that, my friends, is what makes Pokinometry score a…

9/10

I’ve got to say that you guys must experience this place at least once, to taste how poke should be made. It was here that I had my awakening that not all poke places are the same, and ultimately, it was here that I decided to start my food blog. (This was my 3rd time here btw). So please, if you ever get the chance, give them some more business! 😀

Pokinometry

Price: ~$10

Address: 184 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92805

Phone: (657) 208-3488

(I’ll hopefully be back on Thursday! Thanks for bearing with me, guys!)

Pokinometry (and a welcome back :P)

2 thoughts on “Pokinometry (and a welcome back :P)

Leave a comment