Sancho’s Tacos

Hello again, my fellow Americans et al! I have been MIA for a while now, while I constantly am swamped by work and such. I have come back for a hot minute to briefly introduce some very impressive Mexican food once again!

After hitting up the whole Tacos El Gordo shack down in Chula Vista, not much can top that in terms of authenticity, and unfortunately, Sancho’s Tacos is no exception. That being said, the food that they do have to offer definitely sates the appetite. It’s a small little restaurant that’s located on the corner of the street, and it’s kind of connected to another restaurant kind of like a Siamese twin or whatever, but that’s not the point. It has the atmosphere and decor of a perfectly chill beach dining spot.

I just went with a combo this time, and went with their three meats: One carnitas, one chicken, and one steak. Each came with salsa verde, onions, crema, and cilantro. Right off the bat, the salsa/heat balance was fantastic. It’s got enough of a kick to make it noticable, but not enough to have you running for the water fountain. A big part of that was the Mexican creme that acted as a buffer between the spice and cooling factor. Getting into the meats themselves, I’ll start with the chicken. Although a tad dry, the charred flavor and just pure quality of the meat made up for it. It had the perfect amount of seasoning and it felt synergistic with the other toppings. The steak taco, I thought, was a bit mundane, like just your generic taco, which, it did a great job at being, but nothing super fancy. The real winner was the carnitas, which did a great job of staying moist and being packed full of flavor. Every time I try and cook pork shoulder/pork butt at home, it ends up being, for the most part, moist, but just dry enough to be frustrating. That was not the case here. Juices were running rampant in the taco, and I think the next time I come here, that’s all I’m going to get (though I might opt for the seafood next time).

If you’re ever on the pier of Huntington Beach and you find yourself itchin for some eats, go ahead and check this place out. It’s perfect for a nice beach day, and it definitely won’t kill your wallet.

7/10

Though it’s not rated as highly as other places, that rating comes from food mostly, and the atmosphere doesn’t add in. It’s honestly really good as far as by-the-sea eateries go, and I’d definitely stop here the next time I’m feeling hungry in HB.

Sancho’s Tacos

Price: ~$7-8 for 3 tacos

Address: 602 Pacific Coast Hwy Huntington Beach, CA 92648

(I’m gonna stop giving the phone numbers, because it’s really useless. In fact, I might even do away with this last section besides price. Y’all are smart enough to Yelp things.)

 

 

Sancho’s Tacos

2 thoughts on “Sancho’s Tacos

Leave a comment